The people of Kenya went to the Polls on the 9th of August 2022, to elect a President, Members to the House of Senate, Members to the National Assembly, Women Representatives to the National Assembly, Governors and Members to County Assembly Wards. This election marked the Seventh General and Local Government Elections since the return to Constitutional Rule in 1991.

The Association of African Election Authorities (AAEA) undertook a Solidarity Mission to Kenya, at the invitation of Mr. Wafula Chebukati, Chairman of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission of Kenya.

The AAEA is a continental non-partisan, autonomous and independent organisation that  exists to foster cross-learning, information-dissemination, resource-sharing, standard-setting, and technical assistance across EMBs in Africa; build capacities of member EMBs to administer free and fair elections in their respective countries; hold each other accountable to best practice in elections management; and wield an influential, global voice on elections.

It would be recalled that at a meeting of the Executive Committee of the AAEA held in Accra in May, 2022, it was agreed that as part of efforts to strengthen Electoral Commissions on the continent, a Solidarity Mission be undertaken to Kenya ahead of the General Elections. The essence of the AAEA mission was to demonstrate solidarity with their colleague, Mr. Wafula Chebukati, during the election period as well as to offer any advice he may require.

The Mission, the first of its kind to be undertaken by the AAEA was highly successful. The delegation held meetings with the leadership of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) as well as other key institutions of state namely; the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC), National Youth Dialogue and the Election Observers Group (ELOG).

Members of the delegation visited some selected Polling Streams and Polling Centres ion Nairobi. The delegation also visited Bomas, the National Results Tallying Centre and observed ongoing proceedings.  All in all the conduct of the Polls was orderly, credible and peaceful.

The Solidarity Mission was led by the Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Malawi, Justice Dr. Chifundo Kachale. Other members of the delegation included; the Chairperson of the National Electoral Commission of Rwanda, Professor Mbada Kalisa, Chairperson of the National Elections Commission of Liberia, Madam Davidetta A. T Browne Lansanah, the Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Sierra Leone, Mr. Mohamed Konneh and Mr. Samuel Tettey, a Deputy Chairman, Electoral Commission of Ghana..

The Mission was supported by the African Union and the European Centre for Electoral Support (ECES). 

no images were found

Close Search Window